Boards and Commissions | New Mexico Department of Cultural Affairs

Boards and Commissions

Department of Cultural Affairs divisions are governed by boards and commissions made up of citizens of the state of New Mexico.

Museum Boards

Museum boards and museum commissions within the Department of Cultural Affairs establish policy, determine the mission and development of the museum, and exercise trusteeship over the collections of each individual museum. DCA has five such boards:

Museum of New Mexico Board of Regents

  • George Goldstein, President
  • Thelma Domenici, Vice President
  • Mary Ann Cortese, Secretary
  • M. Fred Barraza
  • Beth Chavez
  • Theresa A. Pasqual
  • Joe Thompson

New Mexico Museum of Space History Commission

  • Dr. Christopher Churchill
  • Dr. Donald Elder III
  • Kimberley Fahey
  • Jacqueline S. Fryar
  • Jon Haas
  • Carlos Martinez
  • Dr. James McAteer
  • Dr. Paulo Oemig
  • Dr. Beth O’Leary
  • Dr. Bryce Tappan

Board of Trustees of the New Mexico Museum of Natural History and Science

  • Gary S. Friedman, President
  • Laurence Lattman, Ph.D., Secretary
  • Laura Smigielski Garcia
  • Robert Vladem
  • Sara Fuentes-Soriano, Ph.D.
  • Ian Noble
  • Isatu Kaigziabiher
  • James Bryant
  • Barry Kues, Ph.D.
  • Antonio Lopez, Foundation Chair
  • Rob Nelson, Foundation Vice Chair

Board of the Farm and Ranch Heritage Museum

  • Bob Mayberry, Chair
  • Beverly Idsinga, Vice Chair
  • Rebecca Spindle, Secretary
  • James Berlier
  • Mary Jane Carson
  • Matthew Conrad
  • Leroy Maes
  • Roberta McKenzie
  • Anthony Parra
  • Dr. Jerry Schickendanz
  • Valerie Shacey Sullivan

Board of Directors of the National Hispanic Cultural Center

  • Morris Chavez, President
  • Elizabeth Arencon
  • LouAnne Byrd
  • Anita Cordova
  • Vivian Cuadra
  • Rob DelCampo, NHCC Foundation
  • Annette Garcia
  • Edward Lujan, Chair Emeritus
  • Mary Martinez, NHCC Foundation
  • Vaadra Martinez
  • Sandra Avalos Russell
  • Marisa Sage
  • Nasha Ynez Torrez
  • Florencia Trujillo

New Mexico Arts Commission

The New Mexico Arts Commission is the advisory body for New Mexico Arts, a division of the Department of Cultural Affairs. The Commission has 15 members appointed by the governor. Commissioners serve three-year terms.

The mission of the Arts Commission, in conjunction with New Mexico Arts, is to stimulate opportunities for artists, arts organizations, and other groups for activities or projects to provide artistic or cultural services to the state, to maintain and encourage artistic excellence, and to promote awareness of and access to the arts for all of the people of New Mexico.

  • Nancy Potter Cooper, Albuquerque, Chair
  • Wren Prather-Stroud, Carlsbad, Vice Chair
  • Terri J. Salazar, Los Ranchos, Secretary
  • Delbert D. Anderson, Farmington
  • JoAnn L. Balzer, Santa Fe
  • Terry L. Bumpass, Raton
  • Janet Clow, Santa Fe
  • Glenn R. Cutter, Mesilla
  • Miriam E. Hill, Silver City
  • Connie Hines, Las Cruces
  • Mary C. Lyle, Hobbs
  • Tom Maguire, Santa Fe
  • Mary Peña Noskin, Los Ranchos
  • John A. Rochester, Santa Fe
  • Jonathan W. Sims, Albuquerque

Cultural Properties Review Committee

The Cultural Properties Review Committee is created by the Cultural Properties Act to serve as a professional policy-making/advisory board for historic preservation in New Mexico. As provided by this statute, the Committee consists of nine members which have achieved recognition for accomplishment in his or her field in the American Southwest, and each must have specialized knowledge of New Mexico.

  • Robert D. Martinez, State Historian
  • Dr. Matthew Bandy
  • Dr. Audra Bellmore
  • Dr. Kelly Jenks
  • Dr. Hannah Mattson
  • Elizabeth Suina
  • Ronald Toya
  • Francisco Uviña-Contreras
  • Garron Yepa

New Mexico State Library Commission

The Library Commission provides advice, upon request of the State Librarian, on matters and duties of the State Library and any other issues related to libraries in New Mexico.

  • Dean P. Smith, Chair
  • Cynthia Shetter, Vice Chair
  • Norice Lee
  • Elizabeth Martinez

New Mexico Music Commission

The New Mexico Music Commission provides educational and economic development resources for musicians and music-related industries. Since its inception, the New Mexico Music Commission has undertaken a number of significant projects.

  • Buddy Abeyta, Albuquerque
  • Jir Anderson, Cochiti Pueblo
  • Sara Diaz, Santa Fe
  • Tom Frouge, Placitas
  • Keith Langerman, Albuquerque
  • Derrick Lee, Las Cruces
  • Busy McCarroll, Cerrillos
  • Carlos Medina, Ribera
  • D’Santi Nava, Santa Fe
  • Sullivan Peraino, Santa Fe
  • Jennifer Rogers, Las Cruces
  • Marc Whitmore, Santa Fe
  • Tracey Whitney, Albuquerque
  • Zenobia, Albuquerque